Updated: Tuesday, 25th September 2018 @ 3:05pm

Andy Powell back for Sale Sharks' crucial Aviva Premiership clash against London Welsh

Andy Powell back for Sale Sharks' crucial Aviva Premiership clash against London Welsh

By Barrie White

Powerhouse Andy Powell will return to Aviva Premiership action tomorrow night after he was named in Sale Sharks squad to face London Welsh at the Salford City stadium.

The 31-year-old missed the clashes against Saracens and champions Harlequins with a facial injury, but director of rugby Bryan Redpath has selected the Welsh international to face his fellow exiles.

Powell is one of two changes – Mark Easter is back at blindside flanker – and Redpath is expecting the former Cardiff and Wasps man to give Sale a boost.

“Andy Powell is back ‘in the mix’ and gives us a huge, ball-carrying emphasis,” said Redpath.

“We haven’t gone for wholesale changes because we believe that these players need to rectify some of the issues from the Quins game.

“It’s been disappointing to lose three games but we need to make sure that we don’t over analyse or panic.

“We were in the game last weekend but didn’t take some chances that could have led to pressure, if not a scoring opportunity.

“London Welsh present a massive challenge, one to which we’re looking forward.”

Meanwhile, the Sharks confirmed that former Wasps winger Charlie Ingall has signed a one-year deal with the club.

Ingall was training with the club and featured in a number of pre-season matches to prove his fitness, and the 23-year-old was delighted to be on board.

He said: “After a season of injuries last year, I'm really happy to be at an ambitious club like Sale Sharks.

“I've enjoyed being in such a positive environment so far and want to keep learning from players who have played at the highest level."

Sale Sharks to face London Welsh (8pm):

15.Rob Miller, 14.Tom Brady, 13.Johnny Leota, 12.Sam Tuitupou, 11.Mark Cueto, 10.Danny Cipriani, 9.Dwayne Peel, 1.Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 2.Joe Ward, 3.Vadim Cobilas, 4.Richie Gray, 5.Kearnan Myall, 6.Mark Easter, 7.David Seymour (capt.), 8.Andy Powell

Replacements: 16.Tommy Taylor, 17.Ross Harrison, 18.Tony Buckley, 19.Fraser McKenzie, 20.Richie Vernon, 21.Will Cliff, 22.Nick Macleod, 23.Corne Uys

For more on this story and many others, follow Mancunian Matters on Twitter and Facebook.