Updated: Monday, 14th October 2019 @ 6:12pm

Sarah Storey 'honoured' to join fellow Manchester cyclists Bradley Wiggins and Sir Chris Hoy on BBC SPOTY list

Sarah Storey 'honoured' to join fellow Manchester cyclists Bradley Wiggins and Sir Chris Hoy on BBC SPOTY list

By Dean Wilkins

Heroic Paralympian Sarah Storey is ‘honoured’ to join fellow Manchester-based Olympians Sir Chris Hoy and Bradley Wiggins on a sensational list for BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

The trio of London 2012 cycling champions sit alongside nine others on a heavily dominated Olympics list – as Great Britain’s summer success bumped the shortlist up two to 12.

Andy Murray, Rory McIlory, Mo Farah, Ben Ainslie and David Weir complete the seven men nominated – while Storey joins London 2012 poster girl Jess Ennis, Nicola Adams, Ellie Simmonds and Katherine Grainger.

Four-time London 2012 champion Storey tweeted: “So honoured to be nominated for #SPOTY thank you for all your lovely messages.”

The cyclist won five gold medals as a swimmer across two Paralympic Games and joins her fellow Manchester Velodrome training partners Wiggins and Hoy.

After becoming the first British Tour de France and Vélo d'Or victor, Wiggins became the country’s most-decorated Olympic after winning the time trial boasting four golds, one silver and two bronze medals.

It was then up to track cyclist Sir Chris to become Team GB’s most successful Olympian – emotionally earning his sixth gold (seventh medal overall) in the Keirin.

TRIO MAKE LIST: Manchester-based cyclists compete with nine other for SPOTY crown

The winner will be voted for by the British public and will be crowned on December 16 – the sheer scale of the operation has taken the event out of host of last year’s hands, Salford's MediaCityUK, and moved to 15,000-strong capacity Olympic venue the ExCel.

Former winner of the award Sir Steve Redgrave joined Baroness Grey-Thompson, Denise Lewis and chair of UK Sport Baroness Campbell, alongside representatives from the BBC and other journalists, to draw up the shortlist.

BBC’s director of sport Barbara Slater said: "If we ever needed reminding just how special a sporting year it has been, then the list of those sportspeople who did not make the final 12 is testament to that."

Fellow Manchester-based cyclists Victoria Pendleton and Laura Trott missed out along with Charlotte Dujardin, Greg Rutherford and Alistair Brownlee.

For more on this story and many others, follow Mancunian Matters on Twitter and Facebook.