Updated: Thursday, 9th April 2020 @ 1:24pm

Bolton boxer Amir Khan nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year

Bolton boxer Amir Khan nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year

By Mancunian Matters sport staff

Bolton boxing champion Amir Khan has made the all-male shortlist for this year's BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

Khan, who currently holds both the WBA and IBF light-welterweight belts, has been nominated for the first time and is up against the likes of cycling star Mark Cavendish, golfer Rory McIlroy, long distance runner Mo Farah and tennis ace Andy Murray.

Currently in training ahead of his 10 December showdown against Lamont Peterson in Washington, Khan said he was thrilled to be amongst the contenders for this year’s award.

“It’s fantastic news and I’m honoured to have been nominated for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year,” said Khan. “By being alongside some great names it shows that I must be doing something right and I just want to keep progressing in my career so I can reach all my goals,” he said.

“2011 has been a great year for me as I managed to unify the light-welterweight division and became the youngest British fighter ever to do so. I believe my fight against Zab Judah showed the boxing world how much I have grown and improved,” he said.

The winner will be selected by public vote during the live show, which this year comes from the BBC's new MediaCityUK base in Salford, on Thursday, 22 December.

This year's list sees no women nominated, nor any sporting stars from the world of football and rugby.

Asked about the absence of women amongst the nominees, Sports Personality of the Year host Gary Lineker told The One Show: "Don't blame me, I don't vote! It perhaps has not been as strong a year for women but I'm sure that will change next year with the Olympics with the likes of Jess Ennis and Rebecca Adlington. There are no footballers, there has not been a big tournament this year, and the rugby players have not had a good year."

The full list of nominees is: Mark Cavendish (cycling), Darren Clarke (golf), Alastair Cook (cricket), Luke Donald (golf), Mo Farah (athletics), Dai Greene (athletics), Amir Khan (boxing), Rory McIlroy (golf), Andy Murray (tennis), Andrew Strauss (cricket).