Stockport council elections 2014 round-up: Light on a bleak day for Lib Dems as Goddard returns to Offerton

In contrast to their electoral fortunes across central Manchester, the Liberal Democrat vote held up well in Stockport with the sensational return of former council leader Dave Goddard in Offerton.

“When I stopped being a councillor I never stopped helping  with the deliverers, still doing the surgeries, just keeping my hand in,” said Mr Goddard, who lost his place in the last round of local elections in 2012 after 22 years at the helm.

“I think that personal vote probably got me over the line today because there was a big UKIP vote, the conservative vote held up quite well, and Labour were firing on all cylinders and we just had to keep going.”

But while they celebrated the return of Mr Goddard, they suffered the shock loss of deputy council leader Mark Weldon in Stepping Hill.

Mr Weldon later spoke of his ‘concern’ for the residents there and refused to rule out a Dave Goddard style comeback in future.

“It’s disappointing but it’s been a disappointing for the Lib Dems nationally.”

The council remains under no overall control, with the make-up of the council having changed very little.

The net result of yesterday’s election is the Lib Dems have lost one seat, Labour gained one seat and Tory seats have remained the same.

The Heald Green ward was held by Adrian Nottingham, meaning three independents remain on the council.

Bramhall North Ward

Pauline Banham, LD 1076

Ray Jones, UKIP 594

Elizabeth Nicola Marron, LAB 538

Lisa Walker, CON 2185

Bramhall South and Woodford

Anita Johnson, CON 1862

Ruth Kaiser, LAB 369

Jeremy Richard Meal, LD 1373

David Michael Perry, UKIP 538

Bredbury and Woodley

Roy Edward Driver, LAB 998

Richard Ellis, UKIP 834

Chris Gordon, LD 1349

Sue Howard, CON 498

Andy Webster, BNP 89

Bredbury Green and Romiley

Sally Bennett, CON 1173

Tony Dean, BNP 60

Mags Kirkham, LD 1350

Brian Stanyer, UKIP 784

Brian Anthony Wild, LAB 713

Brinnington and Central

Michael Buxton, UKIP 633

Colin Gell, LD 190

John Heginbotham, IND 68

Pat Leck, CON 181

Maureen Rowles, LAB 1540

Brenda Waterhouse, BNP 93

Cheadle and Gatley

Grahame Daniel Bradbury, UKIP 605

Natasha Maria Brooks, GRN 216

Graham Michael Haslam, CON 1078

Colin Owen, LAB 781

Iain Roberts, LD 2176

Cheadle Hulme North

Sue Carroll, CON 679

Yvonne Maureen Guariento, LAB 780

Tony Moore, UKIP 668

Michael John Padfield, GRN 225

June Somekh, LD 1307

Cheadle Hulme South

Stuart Andrew Bodsworth, LD 1630

Chris Carter, LAB 582

Paul Davies, CON 1104

Cyril Arthur Peake, UKIP 703

Davenport and Cale Green

Doreen Sheila Hopkins, UKIP 650

Phil Shaw, GRN 245

Ann Smith, LD 900

Elsie Wilson, LAB 1557

Julie Wragg, CON 282

Edgeley and Cheadle Heath

Philip Harding, LAB 1884

Danny Langley, LD 240

Camilla Luff, GRN 297

Chris Pamp, UKIP 579

Morag White, CON 267

Hazel Grove

Stuart Corris, LD 1414

Janet Elizabeth Glover, LAB 488

Oliver James Johnstone, CON 1700

Tony Moore, UKIP 692

Rob Turner, GRN 208

Heald Green

Ann Moore, UKIP 547

Adrian Roger Nottingham, IND 2010

Kathryn Ann Priestley, LAB 531

David Roberts-Jones, LD 269

Yvonne Salmons, CON 333

Heatons North

Janet Cuff, GRN 526

Jenny Humphreys, LD 266

Rosalind Elaine Lloyd, CON 1168

John Taylor, LAB 2105

Heatons South

Conrad Clive Beard, GRN 410

Denise Brewster, LD 247

Natalie Louise Fenton, CON 980

Tom Mcgee, LAB 2459

Sheila Mary Spink, BNP 165


Walter Barrett, LAB 1233

Daniel Hawthorne, LD 1458

John Howard Kelly, UKIP 660

Beverly Oliver, CON 203

Duncan Noel Warner, BNP 67

Marple North

Geoff Abell, LD 1580

Annette Claire Finnie, CON 1248

Maggie Preston, GRN 328

David Edward Rowbottom, LAB 538

Chelsea Helen Smith, UKIP 539

Marple South

Kevin Dolan, LAB 446

Susan Ingham, LD 1535

Bev Morley-Scott, CON 950

Darran John Palmer, UKIP 873

Graham Douglas Reid, GRN 254


Dave Goddard, LD 1159

Bill Law, CON 557

Harry Perry, UKIP 843

Charlie Stewart, LAB 1052

Reddish North

Paul John Ankers, LD 174

Paul Bennett, BNP 419

Anthony Hannay, CON 479

David Stephen Wilson, LAB 2082

Reddish South

Alex Fenton, CON 561

Tom Grundy, LAB 1948

Jess Northey, GRN 322

Louise Shaw, LD 169

Ged Williams, BNP 271

Stepping Hill

Ken Pease, GRN 381

Janet Mary Rothwell, LAB 1054

Mark Edward, LD 1279

John Douglas Wright, CON 1316

Related Articles