Everything you need to know about the local election in Oldham

Local council elections are taking place across Greater Manchester (and elsewhere) on 4 May – including in Oldham.

Here’s your guide to what you need to know.

What election is taking place in Oldham?

The local council election in Oldham, along with the rest of Greater Manchester, is taking place on 4 May.

It is the first all-out election in Oldham since 2004 – all of the borough’s council seats are being contested.

Who can vote in the elections?

To vote in the election, you must be a British, Irish or EU citizen, over 18 years of age – and registered to vote in the area.

You must have registered to vote by 17 April, and new legislation requires that people show voter ID such as a passport or driving licence.

Who is standing for election in Oldham?

There are 208 candidates fighting for a seat – this includes 57 candidates for the Labour Party, 50 Conservative candidates, 49 Liberal Democrats and 52 candidates for smaller parties or independents.

In Royton South, the current council leader Amanda Chadderton is aiming to retain her seat.

The last two years have seen previous leaders of the council defeated with the role passed on to a successor.

Previous council leader Arooj Shah is standing for a seat in St Mary’s following his defeat in 2022 by conservative councillor Robert Barnes, who was given a seat at Chadderton South.

Another former councillor, Peter Davis, is hoping to be elected again in Failsworth West, having previously been a councillor there between 2018 and 2021.

What does the outgoing council look like in Oldham?

Oldham council is currently dominated by a Labour majority, with 35 out of 60 seats being held by Labour – who need 31 seats to remain in control.

This election could prove to be a shock for the party, who have traditionally had a majority in the council, as anti-Labour voices have become louder in the mostly working-class town.

The Failsworth Independent Party has gained popularity, convincing more and more people since 2019 to side with them against Labour due to claims of incompetence from the Labour-led council.

The FIP believes towns that are geographically distant such as Failsworth have been ignored in comparison to the centre of Oldham.

However, a recent split in the FIP could benefit Labour candidates, or even Conservatives, who are offering a challenge in areas like Royton North and Saddleworth.

What are the issues being debated in Oldham?

Raja Miah MBE, who goes by the online alias Recusant Nine, has gained a social media platform as an activist.

The Oldham-born former government anti-extremism advisor has attacked Oldham Council’s leadership for the past few years, linking Labour councillors to claims of corruption, child grooming gangs and cartels.

Royton Independents and Conservatives have issued support for an inquiry into the alleged cover-up, a topic which is heated in relation to Oldham’s neighbour, Rochdale, whose grooming gangs that were uncovered in 2012.

For many Oldhamers, a key issue is saving the greenbelt in areas like Saddleworth, especially given the ongoing housing crisis.

Furthermore, impact on council tax rates and Conservative claims that Labour have wasted local government funding may also prove influential.

When and where can I vote?

You can vote between the hours of 7am and 10pm at the following polling stations:


  • Alt Academy, Glodwick cricket club, Mobile Unit, St. Paul’s Church, The Children’s Society

Chadderton central

  • Burnley Brow Primary School, North Chadderton Social & Bowling Club, Spring Bank Bowling Club, St Mark`s Church Vestry, The Crossley Centre

Chadderton North

  • Mills Hill Community Hall, North Chadderton School, St Herbert`s Parish Centre

Chadderton South

  • Chadderton Over 60`S Centre, South Chadderton Youth Centre, St George`s Square Social & Bowling Club, Stanley Road Primary School, Turf Lane Lifelong Learning Centre, Whitegate End Junior School


  • Aster House, Barker Street Tenants Hall, Chadderton Community Church (Annexe), Coldhurst Lifelong Learning Centre, Mobile Unit, Mobile Unit, OBA Millennium Centre, Trinity House


  • Crompton Primary School, Rushcroft Primary School, St Mary`s Church

Failsworth East

  • Hope Methodist Church, Macedonia United Reformed Church, St John`s Church, The Children’s Centre, Woodhouses Cricket Club

Failsworth West

  • Canterbury Hall, Failsworth Home Guard, Failsworth Town Hall, Mather Street Primary School, Ridgefield Community Centre, The Millgate Function Room


  • Canon George Community Hall, Common Room, Holy Family – Parish Room, Mobile Unit, Mobile Unit, Mobile Unit, St Chads Centre, Werneth Golf Club

Medlock Vale

  • Coppice Primary Academy, Medlock Valley Community School, Methodist Sunday School, New Bridge Learning Centre, The Hathershaw College, The Honeywell Centre

 Royton North

  •  Mobile Unit, St Paul`s C of E Primary School, St Paul`s Parish Centre, Thornham St James Primary School

Royton South

  • Blackshaw Lane Primary School, Royton Park Bowling Club, St Anne`s C of E School

Saddleworth North

  • Denshaw Village Hall, Diggle Band Club,Holy Trinity Church, Mobile Unit, St Thomas Church

Saddleworth South

  • Christ Church Friezland, Greenfield Methodist Church, St Anne`s School – Lydgate, St Mary’s C of E School, Uppermill Civic Hall

Saddleworth West and Lees

  • Lees Library and Community Hub, Springhead Children Centre, Springhead Community Centre, Springhead Football Club, The Pavilion, Zion Methodist Church Hall


  • Shaw Lifelong Learning Centre, St James Church, St Saviours Church

St James

  • Fresh Church, Mayfield Primary School, Moorside Cricket Pavillion, Sholver Community Centre, Stoneleigh Park Community Cabin, Woodlands Primary Academy

St Mary’s

  • Al-Madina Jamia Masjid, Bethel Church, Glodwick Infant and Nursery School, Greenhill Academy, Saint Stephen & All Martyrs Church, Salvation Army


  • Air Training Corps, Elim Fountain of Hope Church, Greenacres Community Centre, Littlemoor Primary School, Parish Hall, St Barnabas Parish Hall, Waterhead Academy Sports Campus


  • Freehold Community Primary Academy, Primrose Bank Community Centre, St Thomas Church – Werneth, Werneth Park Lifelong Learning Centre, Werneth Primary School

When will the results be announced?

Votes will be counted and the result announced the following day, Friday 5 May.

Image: Oldham Parish Church, image by Julia Beckton via Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Related Articles