Election 24

General election roundup: Labour takes 25 of the 27 Greater Manchester seats

The results are in and Labour have won almost every Greater Manchester seat in this year’s general election, apart from two.

There are now 25 Labour MPs across the 10 boroughs, two Liberal Democrat MPs – and no Conservative MPs.

Labour have taken the following seats from the Conservatives: Bolton North East, Bolton West, Bury North, Bury South and Altrincham and Sale West, Leigh and Atherton.

Altrincham and Sale West is an interesting one, because despite multiple boundary changes it has been a Conservative stronghold for nearly 100 years. 

Labour MP Connor Rand won the seat with 20,798 votes compared to Conservative candidate Oliver Carroll’s 16,624. 

Labour’s deputy leader Angela Rayner held onto her seat in Ashton-under-Lyne with a comfortable majority of 6,791. Reform candidate Robert Barrowcliffe came second. 

Labour’s Lisa Nandy retained her seat in Wigan and Yasmin Qureshi was re-elected in the new constituency Bolton South and Walkden. 

The biggest surprise for Greater Manchester however is Workers Party leader George Galloway losing his seat in Rochdale, only 92 days after the by-election.

Galloway lost to Labour MP Paul Waugh with a majority of 1,440 and did not make an appearance at the declaration.

Cheadle was a marginal seat between Conservative MP Mary Robinson and Liberal Democrat Tom Morrison, but the result was a clear win for Tom Morrison with 46.7% of the votes, compared to Robinson’s 22.6%.

Liberal Democrats also won the Hazel Grove seat which was previously held by Conservative MP William Wragg who was caught up in the honey trap scandal and resigned his whip earlier this year.

Join the discussion

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles