General Election 2019: Meet the Hazel Grove candidates

Conservative William Wragg marginally won the swing seat in 2017 with a 12% majority.

This article was updated on December 9.

Wragg secured 45.4% of the votes, earning 5,514 more votes than the closest candidate Liberal Democrats’ Lisa Smart with 14,533 votes (32.9%).

The constituency voted 52.21% remain in the EU referendum. 

Lisa Smart – Liberal Democrats

Smart is an elected councillor for Bredbury Green & Romiley and sits as the deputy leader for the party’s group on Stockport Council. She will be looking to win back the seat from the Conservatives after losing it in 2015.


Tony Wilson – Labour

Self-proclaimed trade unionist and UNISON NEC member, the Labour Party’s hopes rest on candidate Tony Wilson, looking to swing the constituency seat away from the Conservatives.


William Wragg – Conservative 

Wragg has served as a local councillor for the Hazel Grove ward until winning the constituency seat in the 2015 general election. He currently sits on the Education Select Committee.

Wragg is looking to retain his seat in the forthcoming 2019 general election, promising to aid Johnson’s pledge to leave the EU.


Related Articles