Fergie names his faves: Carrick, De Gea, Van Persie and Rafael shortlisted for United’s Sir Matt Busby trophy

By Alex Bysouth

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has drawn up a shortlist of four players he believes deserve to be crowned the club’s player of the year.

The club gives fans across the globe a chance to vote on the prestigious Sir Matt Busby trophy, after a successful campaign which saw United claimed a record 20th league title.

But Ferguson – who was in charge for 13 of those titles – has given his preference of who deserves to be considered for the award this year.

“I think we’ve got two developing players, first of all, in Rafael and David De Gea,” Ferguson told the club website. “They have had outstanding seasons.

“Then there is Michael Carrick and Robin van Persie. That is the four and I wouldn’t like to choose between them. I think they have definitely elevated themselves this season.”

Dutchman van Persie bagged his 25th Premier League goal on Sunday against former club Arsenal, making him the club’s leading debut season league goalscorer.

Carrick’s performances have seen him recognised by Roy Hodgson in the England side, having often been overlooked by Three Lions bosses of the past.

David De Gea took a lot of stick in the press for his ability to come and claim crosses when he arrived at Old Trafford.

But the former Atletico Madrid stopper has excelled this season and, along with van Persie and Carrick, made the PFA Player of the Year team.

Rio Ferdinand was the fourth Red Devil to be selected in the side, but Ferguson believes Brazilian Rafael’s performances mean he should instead be in the running for the Busby trophy.

Image courtesy of Sky Sports, via YouTube, with thanks.

For more on this story and many others, follow Mancunian Matters on Twitter and Facebook.

Related Articles