General Election 2019: Meet the Bolton South East candidates

Labour’s Yasmin Qureshi won the Bolton South East seat in 2017 with a 31% majority. Qureshi earned 60.7% of the votes, over 13,000 more than closest competitors the Conservative Party.

This article was updated on December 9.

The constituency voted 63.03% to leave in the EU Referendum.

The seat has been safely held by Labour since its creation thirty-six years ago.

David Figgins – Green Party

Figgins is hoping to increase the 1.3% of the votes that the party received in 2017.


Johno Lee – Conservative Party

Lee is a military veteran who served in Afghanistan. He was elected for Newark and Sherwood District Council in 2015 for the Conservative party.


Kevin John Walsh – Liberal Democrats

Kevin has lived and worked in the local area all his life. One of his priorities it to stand with residents against action that will increase economic burden and is seeking to revoke article 50 and keep Britain in the European Union.


Mark Cunningham – The Brexit Party

Cunningham is Bolton’s first Brexit Party councillor and also one of the first in Greater Manchester.


Yasmin Qureshi – Labour Party

Qureshi has served as Bolton South East’s Member of Parliament since 2010. She is aiming to maintain Labour’s large majority and be re-elected for the fourth consecutive occasion.


Related Articles