General Election 2019: Meet the Makerfield candidates

Labour’s Yvonne Fovargue won the seat in 2017 with a majority of 28,245 votes giving her 60.2% of the vote – an 8.4% rise compared to 2015.

This article was updated on December 6.

Makerfield voted heavily in favour of leave in the 2016 EU referendum, 64.91% compared to 35.09% for remain.

Meet the five Makerfield candidates trying to make a difference!

John Skipworth (Lib Dems)

Has spent over 30 years serving as a school governor and was a local councillor between 1985 and 1998 serving on the Education Committee.


Nick King (Conservatives)

In King’s own words, “We need to invest more in our NHS, police and schools and get Brexit done.”

He has worked with current Chancellor Sajid Javid as a policy advisor at the Department of Business. King left the Government in 2017.


Ross Wright (Brexit Party)

Wright is keen to stress that Makerfield needs strong investment.

“Public transport has been cut and any local investment goes straight to Wigan Town Centre leaving Makerfield left behind.”


Yvonne Fovargue (Labour)

Fovargue was a local councillor from 2004 until she was elected as MP for Makerfield in 2010.

She supported Owen Smith in the failed attempt to replace Jeremy Corbyn in the 2016 Labour Party (UK) leadership election.

She resigned as a junior Shadow Minister in March 2019 after she voted against an amendment on a second Brexit referendum.

“Labour is calling time on those who illegally hunt,” Fovargue says.


Sheila Joan Shaw (Green Party)


For more information watch below – which way will Makerfield go??

Related Articles